Monday, April 18, 2011

Funding Africa's Sustainable Development

The African Development Bank Group (AfDB) is an organization, whose mission is to contribute to the sustainable economic development and social progress of its regional members, individually and jointly. By motivating sustainable economic and social development in Africa, the AfDB contributes to poverty reduction. The AfDB also sees itself as a research center and the loudest voice for individual African states’ sustainable development needs. The organization was born in 1963 in the Sudan. In 1972 and 1976 two other branches emerged from the organization: the African Development Fund and the Nigeria Trust Fund, respectively. The AfDB is headquartered in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire with a temporary location set-up in Tunis, Tunisia.

The AfDB contributes to the continent’s sustainable social progresses by channeling resources from donors to projects in Africa that require financial assistance. This assistance comes in a variety of forms, most of which are lending instruments (loans, grants, etc.). While much of what the AfDB efforts are financially-focused, the organization also provides a voice for environmental conservation and sustainability initiatives all over the continent.

The AfDB contributes to the Africa’s sustainable environmental development through a compulsory recycling program; where all the paper used by the organization must be recycled. The AfDB has partnered with a Tunisian company to orchestrate the logistics involved in mandatory recycling.

And the AfDB contributes to the continent’s sustainable economic development by funding initiatives concerned with Africa’s sustainability: agriculture, climate, education, energy, health, human development, infrastructure, water sanitation, and women’s rights.

AfDB Regional Member States

Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Tunisia, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, São Tomé & Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, the Seychelles, Somalia, the Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, the Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Other AfDB Member States

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Korea, Kuwait, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States

Logo sourced at